Help Me Present My Research in Vancouver!

When I’m not writing blog posts or hanging out on Twitter, I research paleoclimate.

I spent this summer at Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument as a GeoCorps Paleontology/Museum Intern where I studied the paleoclimate of Eocene Colorado. To do this, I took the lists of fossil plants that have been identified from the area and figure out where the modern relatives live today. Then, I narrow it down to where all the plants can coexist. That gives us an idea of what the paleoclimate was like.

Baumgartner_Kyrie_NPS_FLFO_#2

My abstract was accepted for presentation at the Geological Society of America Annual Meeting in Vancouver, Canada. I went last year and wrote about what happened. I’d like to go again so that I can meet with colleagues and potential Ph.D. advisors, as well as spread the word about climate and paleoclimate research.

You can help me! I started a project on Experiment.com, which is a crowd-funding site for scientific research. You can help to support me here. Every little bit helps.

Thank you so much for reading my blog and for any help you can give me.

Leave a Reply

